What is the u. s. city of light?

Buffalo is known as the “City of Light,” but even most locals probably couldn't tell you why. Due in large part to its proximity to Niagara Falls, NY, Buffalo earned its nickname when it became the first city to have widespread streetlights in in the late 19th century.