Why do dogs sniff cats butts?

Many animals, including cats and dogs, have anal glands which leave a distinctive individual scent when rubbed against anything. That's how they mark their territory. Dogs have a great sense of smell and use this to tell individual cats apart. They sniff their anal glands to be sure which cat it is.