What is fuel made of?

The smallest atom building block of combustible fuel is Hydrogen. Simple fuels such as natural gas, methane, is Hydrogen bonded to another element. More complex fuels like gasoline is Hydrogen bonded to many other elements which are really not needed for combustion.