How many people are buried in the catacombs?

In Paris, around six million people. The remains are buried in a vast network of tunnels below the city. People who call themselves 'cataphiles' visit the catacombs illegally and occasionally hold underground parties.

---

There are many catacombs around the world. Typically, no one knows how many people are buried in catacombs, because their bones are all jumbled together. The Catacombs of Paris are estimated to contain the remains of 6 million people.