What are beehives made of?

Bees typically make their hives in straw, pottery, or wood. The structure is a densely packed group of hexagon shaped cells made of honeycomb and propolis. (Propolis is a substance collected by bees from tree buds.) They then use propolis to fill crevices and seal parts of the honeycomb.