What are monopoly squares?

Monopoly Squares are the 40 spaces around the edge of the board. It includes 28 properties, 3 Chance, 3 Community Chest, a Luxury Tax, GO, Jail, Free Parking, & Go to Jail squares that the pieces. The properties are named after places in or near Atlantic City, NJ in the original US version.