Why is our galaxy called the milky way galaxy?

The name “Milky Way” comes from the Latin and Greek phrase meaning “Milky Circle” because, from Earth, the disc-shaped Milky Way looks like an indistinct band of faded light when viewed from within. It wasn’t until 1610 when Galileo Galilei determined the light was coming from individual stars