What was the war eighteen twelve?

The war of 1812 was a U.S.-British war that started when the U.S. declared war on Great Britain on June 18, 1812 over British violations of U.S. maritime rights. It ended with the exchange of ratification of the Treaty of Ghent on February 17, 1815.