What is a quip pro quote?

Quid pro quo is a Latin phrase used in English to mean an exchange of goods or services, in which one transfer is contingent upon the other; "a favor for a favor". Phrases with similar meanings include: "give & take", "you scratch my back & I'll scratch yours", and "one hand washes the other".