Where were roller coasters invented?

Roller coasters have origins back to ice slides constructed in 18th-century Russia. Early technology featured sleds or wheeled carts going down hills of snow reinforced by wooden supports. The technology evolved in the 19th century to feature locked railroad track using wheeled cars.