Why are pit bulls considered aggressive?

In general, pit bulls aren't aggressive with people but are “less tolerant” of other dogs than many other breeds, says Pamela Reid, PhD, vice president of the ASPCA's Animal Behavior Center in New York. They also have “great tenacity. They put their mind to something, and they do it."