What type of gas are farts?

The gas in farts come from both ingested and inhaled gases and those created by bacteria in the intestine. On the average, a fart is composed of about 59% nitrogen, 21% hydrogen, 9% carbon dioxide, 7% methane, and 4% oxygen.