Who are the oscars named after?

According to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the origins of the name are uncertain, but a popular story is that an Academy librarian and eventual executive director, Margaret Herrick, thought it resembled her Uncle Oscar; and that the Academy staff began referring to it as Oscar.