Do squirrels remember where they bury their nuts?

Depending on the squirrel species and the type of nut, squirrels are generally able to retrieve up to 95 percentof their buried food, research shows. While scatter-hoarding squirrels probably also use their sense of smell to locate caches, they do remember their caches.