How long do a cook an egg?

Put up a large pot of water to boil. Once the water's boiling, use a large spoon to gently lower the eggs into the water. Turn the heat off and let eggs cook for 9-15 minutes, depending on the size. (Note: For soft-boiled eggs, cook for 6-8 minutes.)