Do carrots cause hiccups?

No. Hiccups are normally caused by the airway momentary becoming blocked either by eating or drinking too fast. Other causes, like swelling air while chowing gum or drinking carbonated beverages can also cause hiccups. However, prolonged hiccuping could be a sign of a serious illness.