How much was forty thousand dollars in nineteen eighty six?

$40,000 in 1986 is equivalent in purchasing power to about $105,514, an increase of $65,514 over the 36 years. The dollar had an average inflation rate of 2.73% per year between 1986 and today, producing a total price increase of 163.8%.