Is stainless steel magnetic?

Stainless steel can be magnetic depending on the ratio of iron used in it. Most food grade stainless steel surfaces are made from Austenitic stainless steel, which contains no iron, and so is not magnetic. However, most stainless steel knives contain iron, are magnetic, and can rust.

---

Any stainless steel that contains nickel will not be magnetic. However, magnetic stainless steel in consumer products does not tend to carry a strong magnetic charge, so there are not any practical home uses involving magnetic attraction.

---

No, stainless steel is not magnetic.

---

Stainless steel is typically not magnetic.

---

the most common stainless steels are non-magnetic but some types of stainless steels has a ferritic structure and can be magnetic.

---

Stainless steel is typically not magnetic.

---

Stainless steel is typically not magnetic.