How do you catch a elf on the shelf?

There's nothing to catch. "Elf on the Shelf" is a manufactured Christmas pseudo-tradition, stemming from "The Elf on the Shelf: A Christmas Tradition", a 2005 children's picture book, written by Carol Aebersold and her daughter Chanda Bell, and illustrated by Coë Steinwart.