What's in salt?

Salt is a mineral composed primarily of sodium chloride (NaCl), a chemical compound belonging to the larger class of salts; salt in its natural form as a crystalline mineral is known as rock salt or halite. ... Salt is essential for life in general, and saltiness is one of the basic human tastes.