How do people get birth?

When you give birth, the baby travels through the cervix and out through the vagina (also called the birth canal). The entrance to the vagina must stretch to allow the baby through. Sometimes the skin between the vagina and anus might tear or be cut by a doctor or midwife to allow the baby out.