Why are goosebumps called goosebumps?

Great question. The phrase "goose bumps" derives from the phenomenon's association with goose skin. When a goose's feathers are plucked, its skin has protrusions where the feathers were, and these bumps are what the human phenomenon resembles.

---

Goosebumps look like the skin of a goose after their feathers have been plucked.