Who was george washington's opponent for president?

In the 1788-89 Presidential election, George Washington's strongest opponent was John Adams, who won the Vice-Presidency. Others included John Jay, John Rutledge, John Hancock, Samuel Huntingon, Benjamin Lincoln, and George Clinton.