What's considered an assault rifle?

Assault rifles are select-fire (switch between semi-automatic or full-automatic) weapons that fire a cartridge halfway in power between sub-machinegun and rifle cartridges. Some examples are: AK-47, HK416, M4 Carbine, and AK-103. There are over 100 types of assault rifles that exist today.