What is heavy water used for?

Heavy water is used in some kinds of nuclear reactors. Here, it can act as a neutron moderator, helping to ensure that they are more likely to react with a uranium-235, which it can fuse with.

---

Heavy water is used in certain types of nuclear reactors, where it acts as a neutron moderator to slow down neutrons so that they are more likely to react with the fissile uranium-235 than with uranium-238, which captures neutrons without fissioning.