What's the closest mars gets to earth?

The closest distance between Mars and Earth is about 54.6 million kilometers or 33.9 million miles apart. This happens when Earth is at its farthest point from the sun and Mars is at its closest point to the sun.

---

In theory, based on the actual position of both Earth and Mars on their respective orbits around Sun, the closest the Earth and Mars could approach each other would be when Mars is at its closest point to Sun while Earth will be at its farthest, putting both 54.6 million kms (33.9 million mi) apart.