What is the difference between a terrapin and a turtle?

The main difference between terrapins and turtles is that terrapins are more adapted to living in freshwater, while turtles are more adapted to living in marine environments. Some of the key differences between terrapins and turtles include the way they move, their diet, and their reproduction.

---

Like turtles, terrapins typically have flat shells to aid with swimming. Unlike turtles, however, terrapins tend not to have flippers, but legs more reminiscent of tortoises. They have be surprisingly good climbers, and males in particular can develop impressive claws in time.