How do you prepare chickpeas?

Raw chickpeas are toxic. Either use the canned ones, which are precooked, or soak the dried ones overnight in water to cover with ½ to 1 teaspoon baking soda and then drain, rinse, and cook beans in fresh water to cover for 2 hours.