Why do cats bury their food?

In the wild, a cat may attempt to bury or cover any uneaten food in order to avoid attracting any predators to the area. Cats aren't scavengers so they don't bury the food to consume later – it's strictly for protection purposes.

---

In the wild, a cat may attempt to bury or cover any uneaten food in order to avoid attracting any predators to the area. It also is an attempt to not alert any other potential prey that a feline hunter is in the vicinity.