Is a hunting rifle a sniper?

Civilian hunting rifles are generally intended for shorter range shooting. But if a hunting rifle has the same long range accuracy and killing power as a military sniper rifle, the hunting rifle could be used as a sniper. In many cases this is true and the biggest difference is in the rifle’s scope.