Is it ok to have only one guinea pig?

A guinea pig can live alone, but ideally shouldn't. This is because they are social animals that want and need the companionship of other guinea pigs. A guinea pig on its own requires a lot of care and interaction, which is why experts recommend keeping at least two guinea pigs together.