What is the biggest hail?

The largest officially recognized hailstone on record to have been 'captured' in the U.S. was that which fell near Vivian, South Dakota on July 23rd 2010. It measured 8.0” in diameter, 18 ½” in circumference, and weighed in at 1.9375 pounds.