Who is the marshmallow man?

A man made from marshmallows, wearing a sailor hat and known as Mr. Stay-Puft, was the logo of a fictional marshmallow company in the 1984 film Ghostbusters. He appears on a package of marshmallows in Dana's fridge, and also as a giant monster.