How did they discover pie?

The first pies, called “coffins”were savory meat pies with the crusts, straight-sided with sealed-on floors and lids. These pies held assorted meats and sauce components and were baked more like a modern casserole with no pan (the crust itself was the pan, its pastry tough and inedible).