How is water formed?

A water molecule contains one oxygen atom and two hydrogen atoms. Most of the water on Earth has been here for billions of years, moving around the world and through us in the water cycle. With a lot of energy we can split the hydrogen out and store it as fuel, which becomes water again when burned.