What can you feed a venus fly trap?

Venus flytraps require regular insect feedings. Outdoors, your Venus flytrap will eat live critters such as flies, spiders, grasshoppers. If you feed a Venus flytrap something inert, it is unlikely to digest properly & will pop open. It requires the movement of the live bug to stimulate digestion.