When are strawberries ripe?

The strawberry should have a consistent, deep, shiny red color, plump shape and no blemishes. It should have a noticeable strawberry scent and a medium firmness. If it is too hard and partly white, that is an indication it is not yet ripe. If the strawberry is soft, it is overly ripe.