What are they use before toilet paper?

Before paper was commonly used for wiping, people generally used whatever came to hand, including leaves, hay, corncobs, wool, seashells, broken pottery, sponges, animal skins, sticks... and of course their hand itself. Always be sure to wash your hands after using the toilet!