Why do dogs like to sit on your lap?

Sometimes lap sitting is about your behavior and not your pet's. Dogs can tell when you're sick or sad and may offer affection via lap sit to cheer you up. For some dogs, there's nothing more to this behavior other than a desire to have the most comfortable spot in the house -- your lap!