What is the difference between fiction and fantasy?

The main difference between fantasy and other types of fiction, such as science fiction, is that fantasy usually involves a mystical base, i.e. magical, mythical or supernatural, imagined worlds, while science fiction makes use of an analytical, scientific discourse and focuses on technology.