How many signs are there in american sign language?

One popular ASL dictionary lists over 4,500 signs. However, there's no exact answer, because ASL is an evolving language and new signs are always being created. Also, there are regional "dialects" of ASL. ASL is an open language; its signs for letters let users spell any word.