When was the astrodome in houston built?

Constructed in 1964, the Astrodome was deemed the “Eighth Wonder of the World” when it opened in 1965. As the world's first indoor, air conditioned domed stadium, the 18-story multipurpose structure set the bar for arena design and construction for decades to come.