What is a u. k.?

To start with, there's the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The U.K. is a sovereign state that consists of four individual countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Within the U.K., Parliament is sovereign, but each country has autonomy to some extent.