Why is whoopi goldberg in trouble?

In regards to Tennessee school board's banning of Maus, a Pulitzer Prize-winning graphic novel about the Nazi death camps during World War II. She said the Holocaust was "not about race ... it's about man's inhumanity to other man." ABC News suspended her for 2 weeks because of it being hurtful.