What is super mario?

Mario debuted as "Jumpman" in the arcade game Donkey Kong on July 9, 1981. He is shown to be a carpenter and has a pet ape called Donkey Kong. In Super Mario Bros. for the Nintendo Entertainment System, Mario saves Princess Toadstool (later Princess Peach) of the Mushroom Kingdom from King Koopa.