What's hotter than a supernova?

The hottest thing is actually a lot closer than you might think. It's right here on Earth at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). When they smash gold particles together, for a split second, the temperature reaches 7.2 trillion degrees Fahrenheit. That's hotter than a supernova explosion.