What is a 4x6 piece of wood?

A 4 by 6 piece of lumber measures 3 1/2 by 5 1/2 inches across and is available in varying lengths.

---

4x6 is a fraction used by the lumber industry to gage the thickness of a piece of wood. So, a 4x6 is a piece of wood that is approximately 1-1/2″ thick.