What's the story about saint nick?

A Visit from St. Nicholas, best known from its first line -- 'Twas the Night Before Christmas -- is a poem by Clement C. Moore that tells the story of St. Nick visiting a house and bringing presents. It was first published in 1823 and inspired many of the American traditions about Santa Claus.