What is baking yeast?

Saccharomyces cerevisiae, also known as baker's yeast, has been a key ingredient in baking, winemaking, and brewing. It derives its name from the Latinized Greek meaning “sugar fungus” because it converts sugars and starches into alcohol and carbon dioxide during the fermentation process.