Does lightning bugs bite?

No, lightning bugs do not bite humans. In fact, although some fireflies will eat plant nectar, many do not eat at all, and spend most of their time looking for a mate, in their short lifespan.

---

No, lightning bugs do not bite. They also don't have pincers, nor do they carry any known diseases. Their larvae eat other insects, snails, and worms; as such they are mostly beneficial to your lawn or garden.